Skip to content

Winter’s Beauty

January 9, 2010

The Picture This photo contest at Gardening Gone Wild for January is Winter’s Beauty.  On December 28th I woke up to the frozen beauty from one of those magical snow storms where the snow freeze on the stems in the direction the wind was blowing.  I grabbed the camera and took pictures before the sun melted it off.

With the help of my family,  this is the picture I chose for my entry Winter’s Beauty

I liked how it was backlit by the morning sun and when I was looking at the photo close up I saw a star shaped snowflake frozen in place on this rose cane.  I wish it had been captured more clearly, but I like the photo anyway.

I love the days when it’s snowy and sunny.  I can enjoy the beauty of the snow and be hopeful for spring as the days get longer.   Here are some other photos I took that day.

The desert willow chilopsis linearis looked so fluffy with the snow sticking to it’s little twigs.

Snow clung to the old bucket handle

Snow on the sunflower seedheads that are left for the birds

Yesterday the sun was shining in such a way that the snow looked studded with diamonds. I tried to capture some of that light.

One of my year round pots. I plant these with mexican feather grass, sedums, and hens and chicks since these are in full baking sun in summer. I admit to being a not very good tender of containers, but these can take my neglect.


Thanks for visiting. Comments and tips on gardening, photography, and blogging are always welcome.

Happy New Year!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 6:44 pm

    Love the tiny little snowflake – the close-ups of snow are amazing to me. I live in North Florida where snow is rare and not really pretty. Good luck.

    • January 22, 2010 5:51 am

      Thanks Melody. Winter isn’t always pretty here either. I think the joy of gardening is blooming where you’re planted. If not, it would be gloomy indeed. In mid-winter I sure envy you lucky gardeners in temperate climates.

  2. January 9, 2010 7:57 pm

    I think that’s an awesome entry, but I can see how you had trouble choosing! I hear what you’re saying about focus, but I think it’s a really strong photo regardless. It’s hard to capture the motion of snow and wind in a still photo and you’ve certainly done that. I’ve never seen snow do that here. I also appreciate that you read, comprehended, and followed the rules, which it seems few others have done.

    • January 22, 2010 5:47 am

      This was definitely a strange snow day. It was so unusual that I ran for the camera. As far as the rules, some were added mid month. I just happened to double check them right before I posted.

  3. January 10, 2010 5:32 am

    Beautiful shots! My favorite is the bucket handle, and I like that it is tilted.

    • January 22, 2010 5:43 am

      Thank you. I liked the bucket handle too, but wondered if it was too busy. I’m not to good at critiquing my photos.

  4. January 10, 2010 9:25 am

    I love all this frosty glory. I can just imagine how cold you got getting that image!

    • January 22, 2010 5:40 am

      When winter is long you have to get used to frosty glory. The key is to wear lots of layers to keep warm!

  5. January 24, 2010 9:57 am

    Nice images all. I’m very partial to the Mexican Feather Grass in the winter landscape. Good luck in the photo contest.

    • January 26, 2010 12:03 pm

      Thank you MacGardens. I’m partial to Mexican feather grass myself.

  6. Dad and Ruby permalink
    February 5, 2010 7:28 pm

    Hey Bloominrs,

    Everything looks great. We especially enjoyed your winter pics. You have a very good eye for composition. Keep up the good work. We’re proud of you.

    Love,
    D&R

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

