Skip to content

Winter Light

February 21, 2010

This month’s theme is Winter Light for the Picture This contest and Gardening Gone Wild. The judge, Roger Foley of Foley Photo talked about how “winter sunlight can be bold and graphic in the way it falls on a garden” I was fixated on finding some of that. I had two problems when I went on my quest. First, this February we weren’t getting ANY snow. Secondly, I’ve realized over the month that I don’t have any trees really placed to have shadows fall in graphic lines in my yard. I’ve placed most of my trees to cast shade from the west in summer to have a respite from the heat. On Friday we finally got some snow that stuck. When I looked out the window yesterday day morning I saw my arbor casting graphic shade lines on the snow. I squealed and ran for the camera. I’ll tell you now though that it didn’t create the picture that I’m submitting for the contest. Enough blather, here is my submission first…

Winter Light- Snowdrop

Snowy Snowdrop

My family again help me pick the submission.   What I liked about it was how the snow was just beginning to melt.  Close up it looks like bubbles, and the ice had formed a little cage that reminded me of those sugar cages that expert bakers make.

I also really liked the photo below.   The sun lighting up the snow was showing up as blues and reds in my view finder.  I took a  ton of pictures but only one showed any colors.  The plant is salvia pachyphylla (sold with the common name mojave sage around here).    It’s a western native with beautiful purple blooms.   I loved this plant so much this year that I added 5 more.

salvia pachyphylla

The dogs came out when I went to the backyard. Henry paused on patrol right at the end of the graphic shade lines caused by the arbor. Henry patrols the perimeter looking for cats, birds, any invader. I’ve lost a few plants when we’ve altered the garden and he’s cut a new path. The rest of the pics can be clicked to enlarge.

Henry on patrol

Hershey bounded around wanting to play, but since I was taking photos, she keyed in on Henry.

Hershey

Attack!
Can you see the patrol trail?

Here’s the bucket handle again that made an appearance in my Jan Picture-This.

early morning moon pictures

Getting further from the garden, an early morning picture from the field down the street.

And much further from home, a picture in American Fork Canyon.

Thanks for checking out my search for winter light.
My sister just joined the blog with her first post today.  My contest entry has sadly pushed her post down the page.  I’d love it if while you’re visiting you could take a look.   Thanks for visiting our blog.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 3:22 pm

    Uh oh! You didn’t leave the link addresses on the ggw blog.

  2. February 21, 2010 3:24 pm

    And I love your pic! :)

  3. February 21, 2010 5:38 pm

    I love all of your pictures, the shades of blue are just out standing. I too entered a picture in this contest winter lights. I hope you have good luck.
    Molly

  4. February 22, 2010 6:03 am

    Thanks Melody, for letting me know. I realized I messed up the links and tried to add another comment with the links. It didn’t show up, but a little bit later they seem to have fixed my links in the original comment, luckily. Thanks so much for visiting. I’m glad you like the pic.

    Marjorie,
    I’m glad you liked pictures and thank you for visiting me again. I enjoyed your winter pics, the fountain and the ice one especially. I see you are capturing your birds in flight beautifully.

  5. February 22, 2010 6:16 am

    Lovely entry…aren’t snowdrops determined little darlings? Your picture gives me hope that spring will eventually make its way east once again. too. Eventually. Maybe. :-) Best of luck in the competition.

    • February 22, 2010 8:12 am

      I always am happy when I see the snowdrops. That’s the first sign of life in my garden each year. Thanks so much for visiting me and best of luck to you too! I’ve enjoyed your blog.

  6. February 22, 2010 2:27 pm

    All of your photos are beautiful. I do like the first one and the detail of the snow clinging to the snowdrop. Your dogs seem like they are doing a great job patrolling ;^)

  7. February 22, 2010 3:33 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog Gardening for Nature. I am glad you like the post In Defense of flower gardens. Very nice winter pictures! I really like the snow melting on the flower, and the sparkles of snow in the next picture. Your mountain pictures are beautiful!

    Kathy

  8. February 22, 2010 8:29 pm

    Your picture is beautiful – as are so many in the contest. I’ve just had so much fun traveling around the country looking at amazing winter light pictures. Thanks for stopping by my site a while back – very nice to know you. I head to Utah on Wed for some skiing in the big wasatch….hope there’s as much snow there as there is here in philly!

  9. February 23, 2010 4:42 am

    Thanks so much Noelle! Yep my dogs take their jobs very seriously.

    Kathy, thanks for visiting from over the mountains there. Speaking of beautiful mountains, your header picture is gorgeous. I sure love having that beauty close to home.

    Kelly, I’ve enjoyed visiting all of the pictures, too. And I think I’m learning a lot with these contests. You might not find snow in the valleys when you get here, but you should find plenty in the mountains. Be careful and have a ball!

  10. February 23, 2010 9:45 am

    Just beautiful. The closeup of the sparking flakes on the snowdrops is terrific. Good luck on the contest.

  11. February 24, 2010 4:41 am

    That is one wonderful picture girl ! I love all of your pictures .. that one of the morning moon was awesome .. and the post below of all the cat kids .. well you know I am a cat person too so they were beautiful !!
    Best of luck with the picture .. it is perfect : )

  12. February 26, 2010 6:02 am

    Thanks so much Lona for visiting my blog. I really enjoyed taking the pictures. I really love the rose header over on your blog. As matter of fact, I think I’ll go visit it again in a few minutes here.

    Joy, thanks a bunch. If you like my sky picture, that’s saying something, because you have so many beautiful sunrise pictures on your blog. Aren’t kitties funny? My sis’s kitty’s each have their own very distinct personalities.

  13. February 26, 2010 7:48 am

    Nice. I like the crystals visible in the snow. It’s hard to get that definition on the white surface. Looks like you have a lot of photo opportunities.

  14. February 26, 2010 9:28 am

    Thanks John, I think it must have been the light that day. There are lots of photo opportunities. I’m trying to learn to make the best of them. I’m starting a photography class next week, and I’ll practice, practice, and practice some more.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

