Skip to content

Spring at Red Butte

April 12, 2010

Saturday morning I decided to head to Red Butte Garden to see what is blooming.  I didn’t walk the whole garden but here are a few photos I took.  The gardeners were hard at work, which is what I was trying to do in the home garden last week.

The weather didn’t cooperate last week so I didn’t accomplish nearly what I’d hoped at home. There was some death and destruction over this winter. It seems my clary sage plants that I started from seed last year are toast and I was so hoping to see blooms on this plant in person instead of in a book. The worst thing about this winter was the unseasonably low temperatures in the teens back in November without any snow cover. Otherwise it was a normal Utah winter which means expect the unexpected. Ah well, most things are looking decent, if seeming a little late.

There’s some blooming in my garden and I will take some pictures this week. Chores beckon… transplanting, more cleanup, and pruning. Happy spring!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 7:23 am

    I went Friday. “Hard at work” is right. Not too much going on since it’s been cold. Next weekend should be more promising.

  2. April 12, 2010 9:34 am

    I am so glad you visited so that you could share your photos with us. I absolutely love the color contrast of the deep purple pansies against the bright yellow of the daffodils. More people should plant pansies next to their daffodils. Of course, I loved the Golden Barrel Cactus and the Agave.

  3. April 12, 2010 5:30 pm

    Judging from these photos, I’d say things have moved well past decent.

  4. April 13, 2010 11:55 am

    I am kicking myself that I never visited Red Butte when I lived in Utah. Is it in SLC?

    Christine in Alaska

  5. rthoseweeds permalink*
    April 22, 2010 5:04 pm

    I’m jealous Sis. Can’t wait for the Red Butte plant sale though!

  6. April 24, 2010 11:53 am

    That was a delightful tour~Thank you…I love that first photo~It just says spring! gail

  7. June 2, 2010 10:39 pm

    Wow, those daffs are truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

