Skip to content

Penstemania

January 7, 2010

These photos were posted in July of 2009 on my other short lived blog.

Penstemons are beautiful plants.  I love the spiky form and the evergreen leaves.  The west has a plethora  of native beardtongues  to choose from.  Penstemons can be short lived; but I find that deadheading prolongs their life.   I always leave a few stalks for seed.

Wasatch Penstemon (penstemon cyananthus) is native to the Wasatch Mountains in Utah.

Wasatch Penstemon (p. cyananthus)

This is Sand Penstemon (penstemon ambiguus) with ornamental oregano behind it.

Sand penstemon (p. ambiguus)

Here is Utah penstemon (p. utahensis) on the road to Hurrah Pass outside of Moab, UT.

Utah Penstemon (p. utahensis) near Moab, UT

I read in Robert Nold’s book  High and Dry that the color of penstemon utahensis can vary quite a bit.  On the plants I have the colors varied from eachother in coral pinks.   None had the coral coloring as in the Moab picture above.   Here is Utah Penstemon in my garden.

Utah Penstemon (p. utahensis) in my garden

Here is Venus Penstemon (p. venustus).  In 2009, it bloomed for the first time in my garden and I fell in love.

Venus Penstemon (p. venustus)

The header at the top of the blog has hot pink penstemon pseudospectabilis.  It is called Desert or sometimes Canyon penstemon.  To the right of it are blooms of Rocky Mountain Penstemon (p. strictus).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

