Skip to content

Colors of the Rainbow

February 2, 2010

Rebecca over at Prefer to be In The Garden has issued a Rainbow Invitation to post garden photos in all of the colors of the rainbow.

Here is my interpretation.

Last summer I attended a free photography class at Conservation Garden Park here in the Salt Lake valley where a pro photographer gave us tips and then we went into the garden to take photos.  At this class I heard for the second time in my life that you should take landscape photos with at least an aperture  f11.  Well, neither of my cameras go to 11, unlike rocker Nigel Tufnel’s amp.  Feeling cheated, I still worked on my composition with my point and shoot at an aperture in the range of 8.

Radio Flyer with pinks at Conservation Garden Park

For orange I took a photo of these wonderful ‘Pat Austin’ roses at one of my favorite places- Red Butte Garden at the University of Utah.  My  own root Pat Austin doesn’t compare in beauty or vigor to these.

Pat Austin roses at Red Butte Garden

Finally in my garden, my park strip actually, there is ‘Mayfield Giant’ corepsis with native indian rice grass behind it.  A couple of years ago I ripped my strip. My strip is too much of a jumble of unrelated plants, not nearly as beautiful as those linked. It’s a work in progress.

Mayfield Giant coreopsis with indian rice grass

Back at Conservation Garden Park, here is a view from the desert garden: greens Utah style. CGP has examples of different yards at with different levels of water needs and the desert garden gets no irrigation.

Desert Garden at Conservation Garden Park

In my garden Johnson’s Blue geranium and Siskyou Blue fescue cool down my orange area. You can see a bloom on my Pat Austin rose in the photo.

Johnson's Blue geranium and Siskiyou Blue fescue

For Indigo, this is Rocky Mountain penstemon in my park strip.

Rocky Mountain penstemon- penstemon strictus

And to finish, what better for violet than the Queen of the violets, the rose Reine des Violettes?

Reine des Violettes

Happy Winter!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 11:50 am

    Wow, stunning post, I love your choice of pictures. ‘Go to 11’ lololol, if you read my honest scrap post, you’ll see I”m a huge Christopher Guest fan, he’s brilliant. The blended rose is gorgeous, I plan to add a few this summer. Thanks so much for your contribution, it is very much appreciated! 🙂 Rebecca
    PS. I shoot everything with a point and shoot, usually on ‘auto’.

  2. February 3, 2010 10:58 am

    Great addition for Indigo, I almost left it out too, since I couldn’t quite figure out what it was. It occured to me that the colours are unevenly distributed somehow, seeming bottom heavy (but I love blues so I don’t mind at all. 🙂

  3. February 3, 2010 1:19 pm

    Lovely selection of rainbow colors!! I love how the rainbows just keep coming!! I love the red wagon… no matter the setting your photos are great. Carol

    • February 4, 2010 10:36 am

      Thank you so much for visiting. The photos on your blog are stunning. Isn’t that red wagon just the cutest? I think I need one in my garden. Well I have one, swiped from the kids now that they’re too old for it. I haul around the garden tools in it.

  4. February 4, 2010 12:33 pm

    What a joy to see and read! I wish I knew about apertures and things. Point and shoot on auto is all I can manage too. I just take hundreds, if not more, photos and hope for a couple of usable ones. The Pat Austin is amazing, as is your penstemon! Now those are happy plants. 🙂
    Frances

    • February 6, 2010 6:52 am

      Frances, you’ve got the eye. I’m enjoying your photography/light posts. Still have to go back and finish reading the rest. Thanks for visiting again.

  5. February 5, 2010 8:52 am

    I need to learn so much about photography – all these f stops confuse me but I must google that person spoken of here and read some of his material on the net. A lovely selection of colours especially the blues – they really jump out of the screen for me. Thanks for visiting my place!

    • February 6, 2010 6:50 am

      Thanks for visiting. I really did enjoy your site. You have some great photography links that I spent time reading yesterday. Sadly I don’t think Nigel/Guest will help much with photography, but he’ll make you laugh.

  6. February 11, 2010 10:08 pm

    Hi bloominrs, I just wanted to let your know that I posted a Rainbow ‘Thank You’ on my blog. 🙂 Rebecca

    • February 12, 2010 6:59 am

      And thank you too! It was so fun doing it. It would be fun to do it again later in the year.

Leave a Reply

