Skip to content

A little Wildlife

February 8, 2010

Yesterday we added another bird feeder because we’re having trouble keeping them filled. It didn’t take long for the birds to return to the buffet. Here are a couple of house finch photos.

House finches at the feeder

House finch having a snack

A couple of weeks ago my hubs called after leaving the house to say that there was a herd of antelope out in the field down the street from our house. We’ve seen the herd a couple of times since, so they are staying in the area. When we walked down there, quite a few cars were parked beside the road to get a look. The only time I’d seen antelope before was far from home. I’m not really great with the camera (yet) but hope you enjoy these anyway.

Pronghorn antelope

This is a crop from the photo above.

Happy Monday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:11 pm

    Wonderful pictures, we have some antelope not far from here as well. The first time I saw them, I thought gazelles were running wild lol.

  2. February 12, 2010 10:39 pm

    Your shots of the Finches are my favorite, I love how you caught them in flight. I am just learning how to take photos and I have trouble getting them in flight. It is always a blur. Do you mind telling me do I need to raise the shutter speed or lower it for these shots?
    molly

  3. February 14, 2010 6:27 am

    To freeze the action you want to raise the shutter speed. If your camera has a sports mode it will freeze action too. I checked and the shutter speed for bird picture above was 1/1600. I shot lots of pictures that day, had the camera on a continuous mode, so I got lucky and caught them as they arrived at the feeder.
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I’m glad you liked the birdies.

Leave a Reply

