Skip to content

A greenhouse tour- Red Butte Gardens

February 19, 2010

Last week, I dragged my son to the greenhouse tour at Red Butte Gardens.  Seeing their wonderful greenhouses and all of those plants cheers you right up,  though I am a little envious and wish I had a greenhouse of my own.  They had many unusual plants that they bring in to over winter,  many cuttings going,  a whole plethora of plants.   They also start many plants for the annual plant sale (usually held the first weekend in May).

I set my son loose with the camera only showing him how to push the button half way and waiting for it to focus and then pressing the shutter the rest of the way.  He took at least 100 pictures and here are a smattering that I really liked.  You can click on any to enlarge them.

In the picture below, there are pipes that carry the various mixes of fertilizers and goodies that they water with at various times.  If I remember right, they said they had to paint the pipes, because the sun would cause gunk(my word not theirs) to grow in there, so they paint them to keep the sun out.  For fun they painted them each a different color.

There were a bunch of these little euphorbia obesas.  They were oh so cute, but don’t look very obesa.

Euphorbia obesa

arnica

Look at this basil…. yum!

basil

Though we didn’t get pictures, they had coolers for forcing bulbs, and for starting those particular natives that require specific temps to germinate.   It was so nice to spend some time wandering the greenhouse.  I was also so proud of my boy.  I think he’s got quite the eye for composition of photos, better than I do for sure.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 9:52 am

    Your son took great pictures. What a neat way to get him interested in photography and maybe gardening. I love the vibrant gold hibiscus and the basil looks yummy. :^)

  2. February 19, 2010 11:23 am

    Beautiful pictures, I love the camera angles. I can feel the warmth and smell the earthy scent from here. I love taking my little ones to the garden centre year round, they enjoy it and gardening is such a great family hobby. 🙂

  3. February 19, 2010 12:44 pm

    Your son did a fabulous job! All of these shots are great, and he already has an eye for good framing. I would not have to be dragged into those greenhouses! It is so energizing to be around all those healthy growing plants. I can’t wait for spring to get here so our greenhouses are full like that. How wonderful it would be to have a huge greenhouse like that, with plenty of room to bring things in for winter and take cuttings. A dream. 🙂
    Frances

  4. February 20, 2010 4:35 am

    Wonderful pictures, your son is quite the talented photographer! I so enjoy winter trips to a greenhouse, the smells, damp air, and vibrant color. Like you, I long for a greenhouse of my own. Your header photo is just beautiful, and gives me such a case of spring fever. I can’t wait until the nurseries are bursting with the color of annuals, perennials, and vegetables. 🙂

  5. February 20, 2010 6:43 am

    Noelle, I think he’s definitely interested in photography now. He asked if he could have one of my old cameras on the way home. Hopefully the gardening will come too; he already loves the home grown tomatoes!

    Rebecca, I love the smells too. My boys are getting a little old for going willingly to wherever I want to take them and they think I’m plant obsessed (quite rightly, lol). I hope some of the plant love sinks in though. I think I’ll ask them to choose some of the vegetable seeds for this year.

    Ah Frances, you’re right, those greenhouses are a dream and your greenhouse is a dream for me. You’re blog with all the cuttings, and seed how-to info inspires me to do much more of that this year, albeit on a bit smaller scale. : )

    Thanks so much for visiting Liisa! Spring Fever, a universal feeling for gardeners isn’t it? Visiting garden centers in winter is what keeps me sane. I’m glad you like the header photo. It’s actually an area that I’m really happy with. Haven’t done a post on it yet, because then what will I write about?

    Thank you all for commenting. I can’t wait to show my son the posts and the comments. I’m sure he will blush. He’s 11 by the way.

Leave a Reply

