Skip to content

Hoping for Spring

March 2, 2010

female house finch

junco

junco

male house finch

No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow. proverb

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 9:02 am

    Beautiful shots. I capture a shot of one like the last picture you have, I wondered what it was. We have tons of Just plain brown House Finches, but only one this color.
    Molly

    • March 2, 2010 12:34 pm

      Hi Marjorie,
      I’m no expert, but I do believe the male house finch has orange on his head and chest and the all brown ones are females. If I’m right then your colorful one is probably one busy dude! : )

  2. March 3, 2010 7:20 pm

    Sigh…I wish you could hear that sigh…it’s from your delightful photos! The male Housefinch against that blue sky is stunning. They are all stunning! gail

    • March 5, 2010 9:30 am

      Thanks Gail, 🙂
      The sky was awfully blue that day. Today I’m sighing … a sad sigh. It’s been snowing this morning, about five inches before I left the house. If the weather reports are to be believed, it will be gone by afternoon. Hoping! 🙂

  3. March 4, 2010 6:19 am

    Such beautiful photos offering promises for spring. The snowdrops and painted sky are just lovely, and you have captured the birds beautifully. It won’t be long now before we can enjoy a much different landscape, alive with greenery and the early flowers of spring. 🙂

    • March 5, 2010 9:51 am

      Hey thanks Liisa.
      Joy at Garden Joy 4 Me got me paying closer attention to the morning skies with all of her pretty sunrise photos. The sky was looking kind of stripey that day. 🙂

  4. March 7, 2010 7:37 pm

    Such lovely photos, and it appears that spring certainly is on the way to your garden. Things are finally looking up here, we’ve had four days of sun and the snow is slowly melting. Unfortunately, my earliest bloomers are on the north side of the house and still buried! Looking forward to snowdrops and crocus, soon!

    • March 10, 2010 5:21 am

      Thanks Robin,
      I’m glad you’re getting some sun. That darn north side of the house huh? My problem is I just don’t have enough early spring bloomers, but daffodils are now growing with gusto, so I’m anticipating those blooms. Hope you get some blooms soon.

Leave a Reply

